Something: The Musical

by Aaron

I’ve got a new goal in life: I want to write a musical.

Yes, a musical. Start to finish. Script, lyrics, and music. I’ve been thinking about hobbies lately, and, more particularly, what are mine. I figure I’ve got a ton different activities that I’m relatively good at and enjoy, but I think I kinda sorta maybe want to consider narrowing my hobbies down a bit, so that I can really perfect one or two of them. High on the list are music and writing, followed closely by sports and family history. I’ve always enjoyed writing–a gift I believe came from my dad–and I’ve always enjoyed stories–a gift I believe came from my mom and her mother. Music has always played an important role in my life, indeed, at one point I made a concerted (no pun) effort to make it my career. I have fun playing sports, and feel it is important to maintain my health into my old age. I’ve recently come to enjoy family history research and the satisfaction of the spirit of Elijah.

I was thinking about those first two hobbies, though, when the idea of a musical presented itself to my mind. I’ve toyed with the idea of writing a novel, and I’ve considered putting my hand to more serious songwriting–a musical seems to be the perfect fusion of the two.

I don’t think it would be a grand one. Probably not too clever, and probably not too polished, but it would be honest and tasteful. Very much like my life.

